Back

Christophe Michalak

Michalak Paris

Present at Taste of Paris thursday 17th may.

Christophe Michalak has almost as many Instagram followers as Jean Dujardin or Sophie Marceau! He is one of the most well-known head pastry chefs in the industry and with his rock’n’roll creations has made the discipline “cool”. His accomplishments? Shaking up patisseries at palace hotels, adding a new spin to cakes from our childhood and incorporating a good pinch of humour into the most traditional desserts.

He comes from Picardie and nothing predisposed him to becoming a food professional. As a young boy, he wanted to be a designer but unable to go to Art School, he entered employment. He carried out his apprenticeship at a modest local patisserie but his hunger to succeed gave him access to the leading names: Le Negresco, Pierre Hermé, followed by Ladurée. In 2000, he was appointed head pastry chef at the Plaza Athénée (where he remained until 2016 when he left the palace to invest all of his time in his brand).

“When I was starting out at the age of 15, I had a moment of lucidity: I understood that it only takes a little to give a lot of happiness. “ Generosity and indulgent flavours have become the hallmarks of this disrupter-in-chief. In 2005, he won the Patisserie World Cup. In 2012, he wrote and presented the first TV programme on pastry cooking: “The cake of my dreams”. In 2013, he was on the judging panel for the France 2 programme “Who will be the next great pastry chef?” and co-produced and co-hosted “In a chef’s shoes”. He created his cookery school “Michalak MasterClass” the same year, where creations were on sale, but it was only in October 2015 that he opened his first patisserie in the Marais. His brand positioning is a natural follow-on to his career up to now. He pays tribute to French pastry classics but with a new spin, adding a fun, rock’n’roll twist. Fans can find his signature cakes there (salted caramel Religieuse, the Baba, Millefeuille by the metre and more) along with his work on patisseries of the future, lighter, with less fat and less gelatinous. And because of his dislike for boundaries – and even though he’s a pastry chef, he is also passionate about cooking – he opened Café Michalak in March 2017 with a savoury selection created with his delicate touch.

Our partners

Retour

Christophe Michalak

Michalak Paris

Présent à Taste of Paris le jeudi 17 mai.

Sur son compte Instagram, Christophe Michalak rivalise en nombre d’abonnés avec Jean Dujardin ou Sophie Marceau ! Il est l’un des chefs pâtissiers les plus reconnus de la profession et a élevé, avec ses créations rock’n’roll, la pâtisserie au rang de discipline cool. Ses faits d’arme ? Avoir bousculé la pâtisserie de palace, twisté les gâteaux de notre enfance, distillé une bonne dose d’humour dans les desserts les plus classiques.

Pourtant, rien ne semblait prédisposer ce Picard aux métiers de bouche. Petit, il voulait être dessinateur, mais faute d’entrer aux Beaux-Arts, il se lance dans la vie active. Apprenti d’une modeste pâtisserie de province, sa rage de vaincre lui ouvre les portes des plus grandes maisons : Le Negresco, Pierre Hermé, puis Ladurée. En 2000, il devient chef pâtissier du Plaza Athénée (jusqu’en 2016, date à laquelle il quitte le palace pour se consacrer pleinement à sa marque).

« A 15 ans, lors de mes débuts, j’ai eu un éclair de lucidité: J’ai compris qu’on pouvait donner beaucoup de bonheur avec peu de choses. » Générosité et gourmandise deviennent alors les chevaux de bataille de cet agitateur en chef. En 2005, il gagne la Coupe du Monde de la Pâtisserie. En 2012 il écrit et présente la première émission de TV autour de la pâtisserie : « Le gâteau de mes rêves ». En 2013, il est jury de l’émission de France 2 « Qui sera le prochain grand Pâtissier » et co-producteur et chef-animateur de « Dans la peau d’un chef ». La même année, il crée son école, la Michalak Master Class, avec un comptoir de vente, mais ce n’est qu’en octobre 2015 qu’il ouvre sa première pâtisserie dans le Marais. Son positionnement est la suite logique de son histoire : rendre hommage à la grande pâtisserie française en la sortant du cadre, en lui apportant une touche ludique et rock’n’roll. Les aficionados y retrouvent ses gâteaux signature (la religieuse au caramel beurre salé, le Baba, le Millefeuille au mètre…) et son travail sur la pâtisserie de demain, plus légère, moins grasse, moins gélatinée. Et parce qu’il n’aime pas les frontières – et que tout pâtissier qu’il est, il est aussi passionné de cuisine – il ouvre le Café Michalak en mars 2017, avec une offre salée imaginée avec sa sensibilité.

Partenaires