Claire Heitzler


Claire Heizler first came to the public’s attention at Lasserre where she held the position of head pastry chef from 2010 to 2015. Since 2016 she has been the creative director of patisserie for Ladurée.

Passionate about pastries from an early age, Claire Heitzler, born in Alsace, chose nonetheless to begin her career with general kitchen training before returning to her first love: patisserie. Whilst serving an apprenticeship with Thierry Mulhaupt in Strasbourg, she quickly made a name for herself and, aged 19, won the title of ‘Best Alsace Apprentice’. Her career has been exemplary: Troisgros in Roanne, Georges Blanc in Vonnas and Jean-Paul Abadie in Lorient. She was spotted by Alain Ducasse who in 2014 offered her the position of head pastry chef for the opening of his new restaurant “Beige” in Tokyo. On the way home, she stopped over in Dubai to take charge of the desserts at the Park Hyatt before returning to Paris for good in 2009 to take up the position of head pastry chef at the Ritz Paris alongside Michel Roth.

In 2010 she joined Lasserre where for the first time she unveiled her ‘sweet suite’, an audacious menu composed exclusively of sweet food. She created a new vision for patisserie within the traditional parameters of a menu, using fruit and vegetables, relying above all on the natural sweetness of the produce so as to never overload the taste buds.

Since 2016 she has employed her talents for the benefit of the internationally-renowned Ladurée. She has naturally tackled the classic desserts associated with the company, Religieuse and Saint-Honoré for example, undertaking a process of updating them in line with current tastes (less sugar, lighter and fruitier). She has also taken on an important project linking taste to the seasons. Her pastries seem simple but demonstrate her precision and total mastery of the basics.

Claire Heitzler is considered one of the most talented pastry chefs of her generation. She was voted “Pastry Chef of the Year 2012” by the magazine Le Chef, “Pastry Chef of the Year 2013” by Gault & Millau and received the prize for excellence for the best pastry chef from Relais Desserts.

Photos © Cécile BURBAN

Retour

Claire Heitzler

Ladurée

Claire Heizler s’est fait connaître du grand public chez Lasserre, où elle a occupée le poste de chef pâtissière de 2010 à 2015. Depuis 2016, elle est à la tête de la création pâtissière chez Ladurée.

Passionnée de sucré depuis sa plus tendre enfance, l’Alsacienne Claire Heitzler a pourtant commencé par suivre une formation générale en cuisine avant de revenir à ses premières amours : la pâtisserie. Elle se fait vite remarquer, alors qu’elle est en apprentissage chez Thierry Mulhaupt à Strasbourg, et remporte le titre de Meilleur Apprenti d’Alsace à 19 ans. S’ensuit un parcours sans faute : Troisgros à Roanne, Georges Blanc à Vonnas et Jean-Paul Abadie à Lorient. Alain Ducasse la remarque et lui propose, en 2004, la place de chef pâtissière pour l’ouverture de son restaurant Beige à Tokyo. Sur le chemin du retour, elle s’arrête à Dubaï, pour s’occuper des desserts du Park Hyatt et retrouve définitivement Paris en 2009, et un poste de chef pâtissière au Ritz Paris, aux côtés de Michel Roth.

En 2010, elle rejoint Lasserre, où elle présentera, pour la première fois sa « séquence sucré », un menu audacieux uniquement dédié aux douceurs. Elle y développe une nouvelle vision de la pâtisserie, respectant la hiérarchie traditionnelle d’un menu, utilisant légumes et fruits, et s’appuyant avant tout sur le sucre naturel des produits, sans jamais saturer les papilles.

Depuis 2016, elle met son talent au service de la maison de renommée internationale Ladurée. Elle s’est bien sûr attelée aux classiques de la maison, que sont par exemple la religieuse et le saint-honoré, et s’attache à les revoir pour qu’ils soient plus en hase avec l’époque (moins sucrés, plus légers et fruités). Au delà, elle réalise un gros travail sur le goût et la saisonnalité. Ses pâtisseries sont d’une simplicité apparente mais démontrent de la précision et une maîtrise parfaite des fondamentaux.

Claire Heitzler est considérée comme l’une des pâtissières les plus talentueuses de sa génération. Elle a été élue « Chef pâtissière de l’année 2012 » par le magazine Le Chef, « Chef pâtissière de l’année 2013 » par le Gault&Millau et a reçu le prix d’excellence du meilleur pâtissier décerné par Relais Desserts.

Partenaires