Back

Denny Imbroisi

Epoca

Cooking is a family affair for the Imbroisis. Denny began to learn his craft aged 14, cooking traditional Italian dishes in his father’s kitchens in Mantoue.

and was rapidly eager to learn more. He perfected his skills in the first Italian restaurant to receive 2 Michelin stars, the San Domenico in Imola, where he learnt how to make fresh pasta with rigour and precision, before discovering modern cuisine at the Corrado Fasolato in Venice. But from the very start it was French gastronomy which filled his dreams. He crossed the border to work for Mauro Colagreco in Menton (2 Michelin stars). The two years that followed were ones of discovery – citrus fruits from the garden, herbs and flowers picked together in the vegetable garden each morning. From there he headed to Paris, more precisely to Ze Kitchen Galerie, which was where he learnt from chef William Ledeuil how to give free rein to his creativity, to experiment with textures, new cooking methods and original flavour combinations. It was during this period that he entered the programme Top Chef where his inventiveness and technical skills made him a contestant to be reckoned with.

After the competition, Denny joined the team at Jules Verne, Alain Ducasse’s Michelin-starred restaurant on the second floor of the Eiffel Tower. In his role as sous-chef he discovered the workings of a 30-strong kitchen brigade, an experience which stood him in good stead when, in 2015, he opened his first restaurant, Ida. This is where the master tastemaker could share his double-heritage Italian and French cuisine in a contemporary bistro setting.

Epoca, an Art-Deco styled trattoria dedicated to authentic Italian cuisine, was inaugurated in October 2017. The menu showcases traditional regional recipes for a simple, generous and comforting feast.

Our partners

Retour

Denny Imbroisi

Epoca

Chez les Imbroisi, la cuisine est une histoire de famille : Denny s’initie dès l’âge de 14 ans aux recettes traditionnelles italiennes dans les cuisines de son père à Mantoue.

Très vite, il veut en savoir plus. Il se perfectionne dans le premier restaurant italien à obtenir 2 étoiles Michelin, le San Domenico à Imola, où il apprend à créer des pâtes fraîches avec rigueur et précision, avant de découvrir la cuisine moderne chez Corrado Fasolato à Venise. Mais depuis ses débuts : c’est la gastronomie française qui le fait rêver. Il traverse la frontière pour travailler à Menton auprès de Mauro Colagreco (2 étoiles Michelin). S’ensuivent deux années pleine de découvertes (les agrumes du jardin, les herbes et les fleurs du potager, qu’ils cueillent ensemble le matin même…). Puis direction Paris, Ze Kitchen Galerie plus exactement. Là, il apprend aux côtés du chef William Ledeuil à laisser libre-court à sa créativité, à expérimenter des jeux de textures, de nouveaux mode de cuisson et des associations de saveurs inédites. C’est à cette période qu’il intègre l’émission Top Chef, où son inventivité et sa technique en font un candidat redoutable.

A la sortie du concours, Denny rejoint l’équipe du Jules Verne, la table étoilée d’Alain Ducasse située au deuxième étage de la tour Eiffel. En tant que sous-chef, il découvre les rouages de la gestion d’une brigade d’une trentaine de personnes. Une expérience qui lui servira dans l’ouverture de son premier restaurant, IDA, en 2015. Ici, cet artisan du goût partage sa cuisine à la double influence, à la fois italienne et française, dans un décor contemporain.

En octobre 2017, il inaugure EPOCA, une trattoria au look inspiré de l’époque Art Déco, où il se concentre sur l’authentique cuisine italienne. Au menu : il valorise les recettes traditionnelles des différentes régions pour une régalade simple, généreuse et rassurante.

Partenaires