Back

Guy Krenzer

Cake shop

Creative director for Lenôtre for the last thirteen years, Guy Krenzer is the self-effacing maestro of the largest kitchen team in France with over 400 highly-qualified and specialised chefs. A complex role which requires him to coordinate the many different professions found in a kitchen (cook, butcher, baker, confectioner, chocolatier…) whilst imbuing each collection with creativity.

However his career path was not all mapped out. Young Guy, born in Alsace in 1964, fell into butchery by accident as there was a space left in the CFA (Apprenticeship Centre) in Nancy. It was through hard work and interaction with all sorts of passionate chefs through the famous Association of Artisans and Craftsmen that he acquired a taste for excellence and a love for the profession.

Throughout his career he has moved from one top-level experience to another working with leading caterers, pastry chefs and restaurants (Deport, Peltier, Maximin, the London Ritz, Le Fouquet’s…) and picked up a series of illustrious awards: Best Apprentice in France, twice Meilleur Ouvrier de France (in the butcher-caterer category in 1987 and in cooking in 1996), holder of a diploma from the Compagnons du Devoir.

Then came his encounter with inventor of modern patisserie… Gaston Lenôtre. In 2006, he was appointed head of Lenôtre’s workshops and its unique group of chefs. Guy Krenzer puts it simply: creation comes from inspiration captured all around you and comes together through team work and that includes the youngsters.

A respected guardian of French culinary tradition based on discipline and precision work, he is also, at fifty-something, a funny and warm man who goes to work wearing Air Max trainers and practices martial arts at the highest level. His current source of pride is his recent training and qualification as a barista and coffee roaster! Guy Krenzer, an eternal apprentice, young and enthusiastic!

Our partners

Retour

Guy Krenzer

Lenôtre

Directeur de la création chez Lenôtre depuis treize ans, il est le maestro discret de la plus grande brigade de France, composée de plus de 400 chefs aux compétences approfondies et spécialisées. Un rôle complexe, qui exige de coordonner différents corps de métiers (cuisinier, charcutier, tourier, confiseur, chocolatier…) tout en insufflant un esprit d’inventivité au fil des collections.

Pourtant, son parcours n’était pas tout tracé. Le jeune Guy, né en 1964 en Alsace, tombe dans la charcuterie par hasard, parce qu’il reste une place au CFA de Nancy… C’est finalement par le travail et dans l’interaction avec toutes sortes de cuisiniers passionnés au cour du fameux « Tour de France » initiatique, qu’il acquiert le goût de l’excellence et l’amour de la profession.

Au cours de sa carrière, il a enchaîné les expériences de haut niveau (chez les grands noms des traiteurs, pâtissiers et restaurants : Deport, Peltier, Maximin, le Ritz londonien, le Fouquet’s…) et collectionné les récompenses prestigieuses. Meilleur Apprenti de France, deux fois Meilleur Ouvrier de France (charcutier-traiteur en 1987 et cuisine en 1996), titulaire d’un diplôme des compagnons du devoir…

Puis vient la rencontre avec l’inventeur de la pâtisserie moderne… Gastron Lenôtre. En 2006, il est nommé à la tête des ateliers de la Maison, et du collectif unique de ses chefs. Guy Krenzer le dit tout net : la création s’appuie sur des inspirations saisies partout et se construit par un travail à plusieurs, y compris les plus jeunes.

Gardien respecté d’une tradition gastronomique française basée sur la discipline et la précision dans le travail, c’est aussi, à cinquante ans et des poussières, un homme drôle et chaleureux qui vient travailler en Air Max et pratique les arts martiaux à haut niveau. Sa fierté actuelle : être fraîchement diplômé barista et torréfacteur, à la suite d’une formation ! Guy Krenzer, un perpétuel apprenti, jeune et enthousiaste !

Photos © Mathieu Cellard

Partenaires