Back

Kei Kobayashi

Kei Kobayashi

Kei Kobayashi is a Michelin-starred Japanese chef who takes French gastronomy to new heights with a passion.

A Taste of Paris regular – he has taken part in every edition– he was born into a family of chefs in 1977 in Nagano. Whilst watching a programme by Alain Chapel, the 15-year-old future chef had an epiphany: he would become a chef and cook French cuisine in France. After gaining some initial experience in Japan, the 20-year-old Kei Kobayashi headed to France.

He started out with Gilles Goujon at the Auberge du Vieux Puits, followed by Michel Husser at Cerf and finally with Alain Ducasse at the Plaza Athénée in Paris under the leadership of Jean-François Piège and Christophe Moret. Kei Kobayashi kept his sights firmly on his goal of becoming a chef throughout. In 2011, he and his wife took the plunge, taking over Gérard Besson’s establishment in Paris.

Kei Kobayashi’s cuisine reflects his manual dexterity. He demands perfection as he transforms produce into precisely constructed dishes with virtuoso technique and harmonious tastes and textures. He follows the seasons and has the greatest respect for the produce with which he loves to work. He reinvents French specialities in keeping with the finest traditions and declares himself a meat and game specialist, justifiably so as he received his second Michelin star in February 2017.

His Parisian restaurant Kei, rue du Coq Héron, reflects his personality: a calm, enchanting place where meticulous attention is given to each detail.

Our partners

Retour

Kei Kobayashi

Kei

Kei Kobayashi est un chef étoilé japonais qui sublime la gastronomie française avec passion. Cet habitué de Taste of Paris – il a fait toutes les éditions ! – est né en 1977 à Nagano, dans une famille de cuisiniers. Le jeune Japonais a une révélation à 15 ans devant l’émission d’Alain Chapel : il sera chef et fera de la cuisine française en France. Après ses premières expériences au Japon, Kei Kobayashi part pour la France à 20 ans.

Il débute chez Gilles Goujon à l’Auberge du Vieux Puits, poursuit chez Michel Husser au Cerf et termine au Plaza Athénée chez Alain Ducasse à Paris sous la direction de Jean-François Piège et Christophe Moret. Kei Kobayashi a toujours en tête son rêve : être chef. Il se lance dans cette aventure en 2011 avec sa femme, en reprenant la maison Gérard Besson à Paris.

La cuisine de Kei Kobayashi est le reflet de la dextérité de ses mains. C’est avec rigueur et exigence qu’il transforme les produits en des assiettes au dressage précis, à la technique virtuose et à l’harmonie des goûts et des textures. Il respecte la saisonnalité et a le plus grand respect pour les produits qu’il aime travailler. Il réinvente les spécialités françaises dans le respect des plus grandes traditions et se revendique comme un spécialiste de la viande et du gibier. Ce qui lui a valu de recevoir une deuxième étoile Michelin en février 2017.

Son restaurant Kei, rue du Coq Héron à Paris, est à son image : un lieu paisible et enchanteur où une attention particulière est accordée à chaque détail.

Photos
© Richard Haughton
© Thuriès Gastronomie MagazinePascal Lattes

Partenaires