Back

Mory Sacko

It’s hard to miss the phenomenon that has marked the spirits of this culinary season 2020 – 2021, between a remarked passage on Top Chef, the opening of his own restaurant last September and a first star in the Michelin Guide. Nothing can stop this cooking enthusiast who arrived in the hotel industry at only 14 years old, guided by his fascination with palaces, an alliance of magic and high standards.

In 2012, it was the revelation with chef Hans Zahner at the Royal Monceau. At 19, he will then soak up the art of his mentor and clerk, he becomes demi-chef de partie, before briefly joining the Shangri-La in 2015, to arrive at the Mandarin Oriental the same year he will make its weapons during four years under the wing of Thierry Marx. The idea of ​​Japan then emerges, the beginnings of what will determine his most personal project: his first restaurant MoSuke, contraction of his first name and of Yasuke, the first and only African samurai of Japan, as a tribute to this first trip made. from one continent to another.

For this French chef of Malian origin, it was important to create a place in line with the cultures that animate it to give life to his definition of cuisine: plural, delicate, creative, at the crossroads of influences and territories that are his. By working around a triptych: product – seasoning – technique.

With the highest sympathy capital in the polls, Mory Sacko was distinguished in January 2021 by the Michelin Guide with one star and the Young Chef Award 2021. Rewards saluting the creativity of this young chef with daring cuisine, on Sunday September 19 at Taste of Paris.

Retour

Mory Sacko

Difficile de passer à côté du phénomène qui a marqué les esprits de cette saison culinaire 2020 – 2021, entre un passage remarqué sur Top Chef, l’ouverture de son propre restaurant en septembre dernier et une première étoile au Guide Michelin. Rien n’arrête ce féru de cuisine qui débarque dans le milieu de l’hôtellerie à seulement 14 ans, guidé par sa fascination pour les palaces, alliance de féerie et d’exigence.

En 2012, c’est la révélation avec le chef Hans Zahner au Royal Monceau. A 19 ans, il va alors s’imprégner de l’art de son mentor et de commis, il devient demi-chef de partie, avant de rejoindre brièvement le Shangri-La en 2015, pour arriver au Mandarin Oriental la même année où il fera ses armes pendant quatre ans sous l’aile de Thierry Marx. L’idée du Japon se dessine alors, prémices de ce qui déterminera son projet le plus personnel : son premier restaurant MoSuke, contraction de son prénom et de Yasuke, le premier et unique samouraï africain du Japon, comme un hommage à ce premier voyage réalisé d’un continent à l’autre.

Pour ce chef français d’origine malienne, il était important de créer un lieu en adéquation avec les cultures qui l’animent pour donner vie à sa définition de la cuisine : plurielle, délicate, créative, à la croisée des influences et des territoires qui sont les siens. En travaillant autour d’un triptyque : produit – assaisonnement – technique.

Avec un capital sympathie au plus haut dans les sondages, Mory Sacko est distingué en janvier 2021 par le Guide Michelin par une étoile et le Jeune Chef Award 2021. Des récompenses saluant la créativité de ce jeune chef à la cuisine audacieuse, à retrouver le dimanche 19 septembre à Taste of Paris.